Topps unveils 2014 Major League Rookie All-Star Team

One of the hallmarks of Topps baseball products is that little golden cup with the words “Topps All-Star Rookie” printed on it. The players that earn this designation on their card are members of Topps’s Major League Rookie All-Star Team. On Friday Topps announced the members of the 2014 edition of the Rookie All-Star Team.

1B Jose Abreu, White Sox
2B Kolten Wong, Cardinals
SS Xander Bogaerts, Red Sox
3B Nick Castellanos, Tigers
OF Danny Santana, Twins
OF Billy Hamilton, Reds
OF George Springer, Astros
C Travis d’Arnaud, Mets

LHP Roenis Elias, Mariners
RHP Masahiro Tanaka, Yankees
RP Dellin Betances, Yankees

American League Rookie of the Year, Jose Abreu, made the cut but Topps snubbed NL Rookie of the Year, Jacob deGrom of the New York Mets. This is the 45th anniversary of the first Topps All-Star Rookie Team, which included Hall of Famer Willie McCovey. Since 1959 20 players that have made Topps’s All-Rookie Team have been enshrined in the Baseball Hall of Fame. All of this year’s honorees will have the Topps All-Star Rookie trophy adorned on their 2015 Topps Series 1 Baseball card next year.


Comments are closed.